The Council assists and supervises the Executive Committee. 
Besides its task of general supervision, the Council has the following specific powers:

  • Approval of the annual accounts prepared by the Executive Committee before presentation to the General Assembly.
  • Preparation and supervision of the election procedures, as well as acceptance or remittance of nominations for officers, Presidency or of any other society representative.
  • Long term decisions or decisions of strategic impact, in so far as no change of Statutes is required.
  • Preparation of any changes in the Statues or Bylaws, as well as supervision of the procedures involving their adoption.
  • Assistance to the actions of the Executive Committee, particularly in decisions of strategic impact for the organization of the annual congress, or any other events organized by the society.

The Council is composed of at least 13 members, namely the Executive Committee and at least eight other society members. 
The Council meets as necessary, with a minimum of twice a year. 


Members elected in 2021

Prof. Marta Cohen OBE, MD, FRCPath. DMJ (Pathol), Dip Med Ed
Honorary Professor 
Department of Bone & Metabolism
University of Sheffield UK 
Consultant Paediatric Pathologist. Head of Department.
Clinical Director of Pharmacy, Diagnostics and Genetics
Academic Lead for Paediatric and Perinatal Pathology, Royal College of Pathologists
Sheffield Children’s NHS FT
Sheffield, United Kingdom

Prof. Jean-Christophe Benoit Sabourin MD, PhD, DES ACP
Full Professor,
Head of the Patholgy Department & Chair of the Biology Division at Rouen University Hospital
Chair of the Pathology Department at Normandy University
Rouen, France


Members elected in 2019

Prof. Irene Esposito 
Institute of Pathology 
Heinrich Heine University of Duesseldorf 
Duesseldorf, Germany 

Prof. Marina Kos
Institute of Pathology 
Medical School University of Zagreb 
Zagreb, Croatia 

Prof. Ronald de Krijger
Dept. of Pathology 
University Medical Center Utrecht 
Utrecht, The Netherlands 

Prof. Carolin Lackner
Institute of Pathology 
Graz, Austria 

Prof. José Palacios Calvo
Servicio de Anatomia Patologica 
Hospital Universitario Ramon y Caja 
Madrid, Spain 

Prof. Gitta Turowski
Oslo University Hospital – Ulleval 
Oslo, Norway 

Follow the ESP on Twitter!Find the ESP on Facebook!Get in touch with the ESP via LinkedIn!