Advisory Board

Since one of the main goals of the ESP is to provide a professional platform for further development of Pathology practice in Europe, it is only natural that the ESP closely interacts with National Societies in Europe. This has been formalized in the Advisory Board, which is composed of one representative from every National Society of pathology affiliated with ESP. The Advisory Board provides invited and uninvited advice to the Council and to ESP President. The Advisory Board meets twice a year, once during the annual congress and once in the office in Brussels.


Prof. Marco Santucci

Chair, ESP Advisory Board

University of Florence, School of Medicine, Division of Pathological Anatomy
Florence, Italy



Prof. Renate Kain, Austria

Society President, Austria

Medical University of Vienna
Clinical Institute of Pathology
Spitalgasse 23
1090 Vienna

Prof. Pieter Demetter, Belgium

Society President, Belgium

Department of Pathology
Institut Jules Bordet
Rue Héger-Bordet 1
1000 Brussels
Phone: +32 2 541 36 98


Dr Stoyan Alexov, Bulgaria

Society President, Bulgaria

Oncology Hospital Sofia
Phone: +359 878257073

Prof. Sven Seiwerth, Croatia

Society President, Croatia

Institute of Pathology
University of Zagreb School of Medicine (UZSM) and
Clinical dept. of Pathology and Cytology
University Hospital Zagreb
Salata 10
10000 Zagreb, Croatia
Phone: +385 1 45 66 977/980
Mobile: +385 91 48 10 245

Dr Katerina  Kamaradova, Czech Republic

Dr. Katerina Kamaradova
The Fingerland Department of Pathology
Charles University Faculty of Medicine
and University Hospital Hradec Kralove
Sokolska 581
500 05
Hradec Kralove, Czech republic
Phone: + 420 495832898

Dr Lene Riis, Denmark

Society President, Denmark

Herlev Hospital
Department of Pathology
Opgang 104, etage 04, L3
Herlev Ringvej 75
2730 Herlev
Phone: + 45 38 68 97 61

Dr Panu Kovanen, Finland

Society President, Finland

HUSLAB and University of Helsinki
Topeliuksenkatu 32B
00290 Helsinki, Finland

Prof. Jean-Christophe Sabourin, France

Society President, France


Prof. Falko Fend, Germany

University Hospital Tuebingen
Institute for Pathology und Neuropathology
872076 Tuebingen, Germany
Phone: +49 70712982266
Fax: +49 7071292258

Prof. Aphrodite Nonni, Greece

President, Hellenic Society of Pathology (HSP), Greece

Assoc. Professor in Pathology
1st Dept of Pathology, Medical School
National and Kapodistrian University of Athens 75, Mikras Asias Str.
11527 Goudi, Athens
Phone: +30 210 74 6166
Mobile: +30 6944247733 
E-mail: and

Dr Tibor Glasz, Hungary

Society President, Hungary

2nd Department of Pathology, Semmelweis University
Budapest, H-1091, Ulloi ut 93. Hungary

Prof. Jurate Asmundsson, Iceland

Department of Pathology and Cytology
Lanspitali, Hringbraut, house 8
101 Reykjavik, Iceland
Tel: +354 8533666
Fax: +354 5438349

Prof. Gabriella Nesi, Italy

Assoc. Professor of Pathology
Director of the Residency Program in Pathology
Department of Health Sciences
Division of Pathological Anatomy
University of Florence
Largo Brambilla 3
50134 Florence, Italy
Phone: +39 055 2759905

Prof. Slavica Kostadinova Kunovska, Republic of North Macedonia 

Society President, Republic of North Macedonia

Institute of Pathology, Medical Faculty
University Ss. Cyril and Methodius
50 Divizija 6b
1000 Skopje
Republic of North Macedonia

Dr Joost Bart, The Netherlands

President of the Dutch Society of Pathology, The Netherlands

Chairman, Department of Pathology
Hospital Isala
Dr. Van Heesweg 2
8025 AB Zwolle
The Netherlands
Phone: +31 384247167


Dr Elin Mortensen, Norway

Society President, Norway



Prof. Andrzej Marszalek, MD, PhD, Poland

Society President, Poland

Head of Department of Oncologic Pathology and Prophylaxis
Poznan University of Medical Sciences and Greater Poland Cancer Center 
Garbary 15
61-866 Poznan, Poland 
Phone: +48 61 885 0810
fax.: +48 61 885 0809

Prof. Catarina Eloy, Portugal

Vice-President of the Portuguese Society of Anatomic Pathology

Head of the Pathology Laboratory of IPATIMUP
R. Júlio Amaral de Carvalho nº45 4200-135 Porto, Portugal
Phone: +351220408846


Prof. Emil Plesea, Romania

Society President, Romania

University of Medicine and Pharmacy
Str. Petru Rares Nr. 2
Craiova, 200349, Romania
Phone: +40 251306110
Fax: +40 251306110

Prof. Evgenia Kogan, Russia

Society President, Russia

Phone: +7 9265331271
Mobile: +7 4992470150

Prof. Milana Panjković, Serbia

Society President, Serbia

Department for Pathology and Histology
Clinical Center of Vojvodina
Medical Faculty University of Novi Sad
Hajduk Veljkova 1-3
21000 Novi Sad
Phone:  +381638499908

Prof. Lukas Plank, Slovakia 

Society President, Slovakia

Head of the Department of Pathology
Comenius University Jessenius Medical Faculty and University Hospital
Kollarova 2 SVK 03601 Martin Slovakia
Phone:  +421 43 4203370

Assistant Prof. Jera Jeruc, Slovenia

Society President, Slovenia

Institute of Pathology,
University of Ljubljana – Faculty of Medicine
Korytkova 2,
1000 Ljubljana
Phone: +386 1 5437138

Prof. Rodriguez Peralto, Spain

Society President, Spain
Jefe de Servicio
Servicio de Anatomía Patológica
Hospital Universitario 12 de Octubre
Avda. de Córdoba s/28041-Madrid, Spain
Phone: +34 913908710


Prof. Gieri Cathomas, Switzerland

Society Representative, Switzerland


Prof. Funda Yilmaz, Turkey

Society President, Turkey

Professor of Pathology
University of Ege
Faculty of Medicine
Department of Pathology
35100 Izmir, Turkey
Phone:+90232 3904558 

Prof. Olena Dyadyk, Ukraine

Society Representative, Ukraine

Head of the Department of Pathologic and Topographic Anatomy
Shupyk National Healthcare University of Ukraine
9 Dorogozhytska Street
04112, Kyiv, Ukraine
Phone:  +380504702237


Prof. Mark J Arends,  Great Britain and Ireland

Society President - Pathological Society of Great Britain and Ireland

Edinburgh Pathology, University of Edinburgh
Institute for Genetics & Molecular Medicine
Western General Hospital
Crewe Road South
Phone: +44 (0) 131 651 8019