ESP Nephropathology Working Group 2016 report

Chairperson: Ian SD Roberts, Oxford, UK

Secretary: Helmut Hopfer, Basel, Switzerland

Nephropathology WG website

http://www.nephropathology-esp.org/

The website is a valuable resource for nephropathologists. It is managed by Michael Mihatsch, who developed the website, and Helmut Hopfer. It includes educational materials, including links to recent publications, and laboratory methods and protocols, the presentations of recent WG meetings, notices of future meetings and links to related nephrology and nephropathology websites.

Courses

ESCOP 26-28th November 2015, Ankara, Turkey. This 3 day course was hosted by Saba Kiremitci and Arzu Ensari, and delivered by Ian Roberts, Helmut Hopfer and Kerstin Amann. It included both didactic lectures and practical workshops in which delegates had access to digital slides. It was very well attended and led to the development of new links and friendships. The lecturers were impressed by the state of Turkish nephropathology, in particular the levels of enthusiasm within the specialty and knowledge of nephropathology amongst Turkish pathologists, and the extent of educational activities. One of the many positive outcomes of the course was that the local organiser, Saba Kiremitci was invited to present at the 2016 IAP/ECP Congress.

Giordano Fellowships

Currently there are two centres recognized to host Giordano Fellowships in Nephropathology: Basel and Erlangen. This number is likely to increase in the next year.

Collaboration with other organisations

The aims and objectives of the ESP Nephropathology WG overlaps with that of several other international professional societies: the Renal Pathology Society (RPS; the global society for nephropathologists), International Academy of Pathology, European Renal Association and International Society of Nephrology. There are naturally close links between these societies and indeed officers of the Nephropathology WG have leading roles in these other organisations. These links facilitate the recruitment of non-pathologist and non-European speakers at the ECP, attract delegates from outside of Europe, provide additional ways of advertising the ECP to the nephropathology community and improve the educational value of our meetings. This was illustrated by IAP/ECP 2016 in Cologne. The two principle organisers of the nephropathology programme were Ian Roberts, who is also President of the RPS, and Jan Becker, who is also Chair of the Education Committee of the RPS. We organised an RPS meeting in Cologne on 25th September, the day before the ECP. This attracted a large audience of nephropathologists from around the world, many of whom also registered for the ECP.

Nephropathology at the ECP

Attendance at nephropathology sessions of the ECP continues to grow. Our meetings are amongst the best attended and most vibrant nephropathology meetings in the world. We would like to thank Jan Becker, the local nephropathology host for the 2016 Congress in Cologne, for the work he put into developing a great programme and ensuring the success of the nephropathology sessions. The draft programme for the Amsterdam ECP 2017 is equally strong and we are sure that it will attract a similar level of interest. Sandrine Florquin, Chief of Nephropathology at Amsterdam Medical Centre, is the local nephropathology host.

The MJ Mihatsch & Dusan Ferluga Award for the best abstract in Renal Transplant and Native Kidney Pathology at the ECP is presented at the Nephropathology Business Meeting that follows the first nephropathology symposium. This year there were two winners: Anjali Satoskar, Ohio, USA (Pattern of IgA and C3 staining in 76 biopsies with staphylococcus infection associated glomerulonephritis) and Nicolas Kozakowski, Vienna, Austria (The diffuse extent of peritubular capillaritis in late antibody mediated rejection is associated with more severe chronic allograft damage).

New Chairperson of the Nephropathology Working Group

After 3 years as Chair, Ian Roberts stood down at the Cologne Congress. There was only one nomination for the new Chairperson: Kerstin Amann, Erlangen, Germany, who was pleased to accept the position.

Ian Roberts, Professor of Cellular Pathology, Oxford University Hospitals

October 2016